Skip to content

Nothing is simple

October 5, 2017

The national debate and firestorm over professional atheletes kneeling or protesting during the national anthem before their games has become bigger then the sports they play. I am not sure how much is political, true patriotism or really has the potential to help change anything in such a polarized environment. So since I have been asked, here are my thoughts:

– First, if any of this can help battle the sin issue of social or cultural injustice, I am all for it.

– Second, I am not sure this is a First Amendment issue. If I am employed by a company, they are allowed to regulate my speech in the work place.

 – Third, I will always stand during the national anthem. To me it honors the flag, this country and those who serve.

– Fourth, I really respected the statements made when everyone from different backgrounds stood and linked arms. That to me was an awsome sign of unity. 

– Finally, I really miss when spports were just fun to watch. Movies and sports are forms of entertainment, something to enjoy. We are losing any respite from angst and controversy. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment